Top 3 Right Now: Emily’s Top 3 Books to Read if You Loved The Hate U Give

This week Emily – the teen services librarian at our Monroe community library – has assembled an excellent Top 3 list of books to read if you loved the book The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

Emily (R) visiting with her sister Nora (L), who lives in Madrid! Apparently Nora is a big fan of e-books while she’s living abroad and “lives on Overdrive” while commuting.

Take it away, Emily!

“I read The Hate U Give last year and fell in love with Starr, her family, and her story. While we’re waiting for the movie to be released, here’s a little list of other things I’ve been reading in the meantime. What these books have in common are characters like Starr – driven, smart young people trying to navigate some very unfair circumstances like race, poverty, and police violence in the United States.

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

I loved getting to know Fabiola, who is clever, kind, and determined to be reunited with her mother, currently held in an immigration detention center. While this book is often emotional and painful, there are some sweet, funny moments that reminded me of being a foreign exchange student grappling with a new language and a new culture. If you like magical realism, check this one out.

Dear Martin by Nic Stone
I often prefer books written in first-person, because they give you such a close-up view of a character’s feelings and emotions. While Dear Martin is written in third-person, the reader still gets an intimate look at Justyce’s thoughts through his letters to Martin Luther King, Jr.

Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson

Like Starr, Jade attends a mostly white private school and struggles to make her entire self known to her teachers, mentors, and classmates. I especially enjoyed the (semi) local setting – this story takes place in Portland, OR!”

Thanks, Emily, for the awesome suggestions!

Check back next Thursday when Angela from our Mountlake Terrace library will give us a list of her Top 3 Funny Graphic Novels – just in time for your relaxing summer reading needs!

Tags: , ,


Comments

Leave a reply