Marysville Teens win summer reading video contest

 

Sarah Archer

Caedmon Calber

 

Sarah Archer and Caedmon Calbero, juniors at Marysville Getchell High School, looked for the deeper meaning behind the Sno-Isle Libraries’ Explore Summer slogan “Build a Better World” to create a summer reading video that won the 2017 Washington Teen Video Challenge.

Sarah and Caedmon are both enrolled in a video broadcast class at Getchell’s International Communications Academy.

“We wanted … the underlying message to resonate deeper than just ‘Build a Better World,’” Caedmon says.

In the video, teens are inspired by books they find in the library to care for the environment, explore science, and reach out to others.

“We wanted to display how people can use the world around them to not only better themselves, but also the people surrounding them,” Sarah says.

Check out their video here:

Sarah and Caedmon each received a check for $50 from Collaborative Summer Library Program (CSLP.) CSLP and the Washington State Library sponsored the contest. You can read more about Sarah and Caedmon and the video contest here at the state library website. You can watch the other winning videos at CSLP 2017 Teen Video Challenge page.

Since they are both high school juniors, we hope they will enter the CSLP Teen Video Challenge next year.

Let us know what you think about their “Build a Better World – Marysville” in the comments below.

The Sno-Isle Teens Explore Summer program began June 1 and runs until August 31. Sign up here and receive a free book after logging ten hours of reading!

Marta @ Marysville Library

Tagged | Leave a comment

Top 3 Right Now: Melissa from Mariner

This week we are featuring Melissa, our Teen programmer extraordinaire at our brand-spanking-new Mariner library branch in south Everett.

Melissa’s got some great “picks” to share with you below! *ba-dum-ch!*

 So, Melissa, what are your top choices for teen reads these days?
Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
This book gives some interesting historical facts mixed in with a great story about a young woman who trying to solve murder mysteries while everyone keeps telling her to stay at home and be a lady.
Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger – specifically, the audio version of the book.
The person who reads this book is amazing. She does all of the voices in a really good way and it’s very entertaining. These books also feature a strong lead female who learns how to be a spy and kill people at her “finishing school.”
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl by Ryan North
Squirrel girl is a computer science college student and she uses her brains, not just her Super Squirrel Strength to beat up bad guys. She’s unbeatable!  (Plus how can you go wrong with the catchphrase, “Eats nuts, kicks butts?”)

Great suggestions, Melissa – thanks!

If you would like to be featured on our T3RN, email teens@sno-isle.org and include:

  • The titles of the three books that teens would enjoy (they can be published for any age group).
  • One or two sentences describing what it is about each book that has you in its grip right now.
  • A photo of yourself.  We like wacky!
Tagged , | Leave a comment

Trailer Tuesday: Under the Never Sky

Trailer Tuesday: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Readers’ Corner: Rainbow Reads

You may know that June is Pride Month, and you can find out more about its history and how it’s celebrated at the Library of Congress.

This week, I’d like to join in the festivities by sharing one of our GLBTQ-focused booklists called Rainbow Reads. It includes a variety of fiction and nonfiction for, by, and about GLBTQ teens.

Rainbow Reads: Sno-Isle Teens GLBT booklist

You may also be interested in learning about the Stonewall Book Awards, and the following related Sno-Isle Teens booklists:

Are there any great books out there that we’ve missed on these lists? Let us know in the comments!

Happy reading!

Melleny @ Mukilteo Library

Melleny @ Mukilteo Library

Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Featured Event – Squirt Gun Painting

Image from Fireflies + Mud Pies blog

Teen Make-It Thursday: Squirt Gun Painting
@ Arlington Library
Thursday, June 15
3-4 p.m.
Create a Pollock-esque canvas painting using a unique paint-delivery method: squirt guns! We’ll teach you how to create negative space on the canvas before you begin the squirting, and you can experiment with different types of paint to create unique patterns and effects. Space is limited, so be sure to register for this Explore Summer event to ensure your spot.

Tagged | Leave a comment

Weekend Book Giveaway: Trusting You & Other Lies

This week we’re giving away an Advanced Reader’s Copy of Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams.  This book isn’t out until Tuesday, June 20th, so you have the chance to read it before all of your friends can!

From the publisher: Bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins. Phoenix can’t imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years–do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better? On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum–the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he’s impossible to figure out–and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he’s promising Phoenix a summer she’ll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?

This sounds like the perfect summer read to log for Explore Summer!

For your chance to win tell us about one of your favorite summer memories and what made it special? Bonus question, tell us about something that you’re excited to do this summer!

Winner will be picked on Tuesday, June  with the assistance of Random Number Generator. Be sure to leave a name with your entry, and check back to see if you won. To win you must be a teen (6th-12th grade, or age 12-18) who uses a Sno-Isle Library.

Tagged , , , , | 3 Comments

Top 3 Right Now: Melleny from Mukilteo

This week we are featuring Melleny, the Teen Librarian from our Mukilteo branch.

Melleny can likely be found at the Mukilteo Reference desk, though likely not with her adorable pug companion. 

Okay Melleny, what are your Top 3 Books so far this year?
The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas
A very realistic, enlightening, and moving book that’s extremely timely and important.
Bandette by Tobin & Coover
A fun graphic novel series about an unflappable super-thief with a heart of gold.
A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge
I just started it, but I love it so far. The premise is super intriguing, and the author hasn’t let me down yet.

Thanks for the suggestions, Melleny – now I’ve got more things to add to my holds queue!  😉

If you would like to be featured on our T3RN, email teens@sno-isle.org and include:

  • The titles of the three books that teens would enjoy (they can be published for any age group).
  • One or two sentences describing what it is about each book that has you in its grip right now.
  • A photo of yourself.  We like wacky!
Tagged , | Leave a comment

Trailer Tuesday: Dividing Eden

Trailer Tuesday: Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau

Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Featured Event – Fact for Fiction: Navigating Fake News

How can you tell if news is real or fake? Check out this class to learn some strategies –

Fact or Fiction: Navigating Fake News
@ Oak Harbor Library
Tuesday, June 6
5:30-6:30 p.m.
Learning to decipher fact from fiction is a key skill that everyone should have, especially as social media rises as a primary news source for consumers. In this librarian-led class, we’ll talk about the history of fake news, show you how to critically evaluate information, and provide resources and best practices for identifying fake news and misinformation in your daily lives.

Tagged | Leave a comment

Weekend Book Giveaway: The Upside of Unrequited

This week we’re giving away an Advanced Reader’s Copy of The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. This was released in April, but there is still a holds queue for in our catalog. If you’ve been anxiously waiting to read it (like I have!) here’s your chance to skip the line and read it before your friends!

From the publisher: Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back. There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

Doesn’t this sound like fun?

For your chance to win tell us about a time when you befriended someone who didn’t seem to have anything in common with you. Did you wind up having more in common than you initially thought? How did your perception of that person change over time? Are you still friends?

Winner will be picked on Tuesday, June 6th with the assistance of Random Number Generator. Be sure to leave a name with your entry, and check back to see if you won. To win you must be a teen (6th-12th grade, or age 12-18) who uses a Sno-Isle Library.

Tagged , , , | 4 Comments