Monthly Archives: July 2016

Learn and Discover: Old-Timey Movies

Like movies? Want to try something odd and unusual? On August 5, 2016, at 7:30 pm, the Historic Everett Theater in downtown Everett is showing “The Mark of Zorro” – a fast-paced adventure made in 1920 about a Robin Hood-type figure who defends poor people in Spanish California against an oppressive governor (you can also […]

Posted in Teen Explore Summer | Tagged , | Comments Off on Learn and Discover: Old-Timey Movies

This Week at the Library

Monday, August 1st Cup Cake Wars 3:30 PM – Darrington Library Join us for an intense battle of cupcake supremacy! Design your own edible delight. The library will provide the cupcakes and a variety of supplies for garnishing your entry. You provide the creativity for an edible masterpiece. Participants will vote for the best overall […]

Posted in This Week | Comments Off on This Week at the Library

Vlog Squad: Shatter Me

Hannah reviews “one of my very favorite books of all time…SHATTER ME by Tahereh Mafi.” Recommended for fans of Divergent, Hunger Games…plus she assures that there’s “also some romance in there for my romance fans, it’s a good choice for you, trust me. ” Request this awesome book from Sno-Isle Libraries today! http://goo.gl/zx4TPx

Posted in Vlog Squad | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on Vlog Squad: Shatter Me

Weekend Book Giveaway: The Thousandth Floor

Looking for something exciting and new? Love the glamour of big cities, big buildings, and big dreams? I think you might very well like The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee. From the publisher: New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, […]

Posted in Weekend Book Giveaway | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

Top 3 Right Now: Chloe

This week we are featuring Chloe, a Teen Explore Summer gold medal reader from the Lake Stevens Library:   So tell me Chloe, what books are your favs right now? “The Snarkout Boys and the Avocado of Death, by Daniel Pinkwater High school freshmen Walter Galt and Winston Bongo have an unusual pastime: they sneak out […]

Posted in Teen Explore Summer, Top 3 Right Now | Tagged , | Comments Off on Top 3 Right Now: Chloe

You Count – Global Warming & Climate Change

Does it seem like the world’s getting warmer to you? Or that the storms and other weather events are getting more intense? The world’s climate is changing, and we can see it here in Washington just as much as anywhere else. We see it in glacier reduction, declining snow-pack, earlier spring runoff, an increase in […]

Posted in You Count | Tagged | Comments Off on You Count – Global Warming & Climate Change

Trailer Tuesday: The Square Root of Summer

Trailer Tuesday: The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

Posted in Trailer Tuesday | Tagged , , , , , , | Comments Off on Trailer Tuesday: The Square Root of Summer

Readers’ Corner: Mysteries in Paperback

I love to read mysteries. The clues, the puzzles, the red herrings, the chase — I love it all. So this week’s featured teen booklist is all about mysteries. The books on this list are from the YALSA list of 2015 Popular Paperbacks on the topic of Mysteries (Murder, Mayhem, and Other Adventures). The great thing […]

Posted in Readers Corner | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on Readers’ Corner: Mysteries in Paperback

This Week at the Library

Monday, July 25th Six Word Story Contest All Day – Darrington Library Enter the Darrington Library’s Six Word Story contest, between July 1 and July 29, 2016, and you could win one of three great prizes. Who knows, you might even win a place in literary history. We will have a team of Six Word […]

Posted in This Week | Comments Off on This Week at the Library

Vlog Squad: Lucky Few

Alex shares her great enthusiasm for Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee, a book about “unlikely friendships”, with lots of “dry humor, and teenage angst”. Check it out from Sno-Isle Libraries here: http://goo.gl/DlMqXL

Posted in Vlog Squad | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Vlog Squad: Lucky Few
  • To receive notifications of new posts, enter your email address.

  •  Subscribe in a reader




    Sno-Isle Libraries: Connecting people, ideas and culture


    Sno-Isle Libraries Administrative & Service Center, 7312 35th Ave NE, Marysville, WA 98271-7417
    360-651-7000 (local) • 877-766-4753 (toll free) • 360-651-7151 (fax)

    ©2017 Sno-Isle Libraries