Featured Event: Hungry Games: Miracle Berry Madness

 

Arlington Library
Monday, June 18
12:00pm – 1:00pm

Ready to take your taste buds on an unexpected journey? Join us for our 3rd annual Hungry Games, and take the Miracle Berry challenge!

We’ll have miracle berry tablets for you to suck on, and then a menu of unusual foods to try out after the berry changes how your tongue interprets flavor signals. Supplies are limited, so please preregister to reserve your spot. Don’t forget to bring a donation to the Arlington Food Bank, too! For students grade 5 and up; supported by Friends of the Arlington Library.

Register here:  https://sno-isle.libnet.info/events?l=Arlington%20Library&r=thismonth

Arlington Food Bank

Leave a comment

Top 3 Right Now: Emily’s Top 3 Books to Read if You Loved The Hate U Give

This week Emily – the teen services librarian at our Monroe community library – has assembled an excellent Top 3 list of books to read if you loved the book The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

Emily (R) visiting with her sister Nora (L), who lives in Madrid! Apparently Nora is a big fan of e-books while she’s living abroad and “lives on Overdrive” while commuting.

Take it away, Emily!

“I read The Hate U Give last year and fell in love with Starr, her family, and her story. While we’re waiting for the movie to be released, here’s a little list of other things I’ve been reading in the meantime. What these books have in common are characters like Starr – driven, smart young people trying to navigate some very unfair circumstances like race, poverty, and police violence in the United States.

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

I loved getting to know Fabiola, who is clever, kind, and determined to be reunited with her mother, currently held in an immigration detention center. While this book is often emotional and painful, there are some sweet, funny moments that reminded me of being a foreign exchange student grappling with a new language and a new culture. If you like magical realism, check this one out.

Dear Martin by Nic Stone
I often prefer books written in first-person, because they give you such a close-up view of a character’s feelings and emotions. While Dear Martin is written in third-person, the reader still gets an intimate look at Justyce’s thoughts through his letters to Martin Luther King, Jr.

Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson

Like Starr, Jade attends a mostly white private school and struggles to make her entire self known to her teachers, mentors, and classmates. I especially enjoyed the (semi) local setting – this story takes place in Portland, OR!”

Thanks, Emily, for the awesome suggestions!

Check back next Thursday when Angela from our Mountlake Terrace library will give us a list of her Top 3 Funny Graphic Novels – just in time for your relaxing summer reading needs!

Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Trailer Tuesday: The Smoke Thieves

Unforgivable betrayals, devious motives, and forbidden love collide in The Smoke Thieves, the first installment of internationally bestselling author Sally Green’s epic new fantasy series.

Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Readers’ Corner: Road Trips

With summer vacation right around the corner, this week’s booklist features Road Trip Novels.

Nothing says freedom and adventure like a road trip!

 

Marissa @ Mariner Library

Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Featured Event: Explore Summer – Rock On!

Explore Summer – Rock On

Clinton Library
Saturday, June 16: 11:00am – 12:00pm

Rock into your summer with artist Carla Walsh, and have fun painting rocks in this free class.

All materials are supplied, but feel free to bring your own rocks if you have them.

Afterwards, take a moment to check out a book to add to your Explore Summer Reading Log.

https://www.sno-isle.org/summerteens  

https://www.sno-isle.org/teens/activities

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Top 3 Right Now: Judi’s Favorite Audiobooks Set on an Island

This week we’re featuring a list of excellent audiobooks set on islands, as selected by Judi, the teen services guru from our Darrington community library. Audiobooks are an excellent way to earn some reading hours for our Explore Summer program, and studies have found that listening to a book gives you almost exactly the same benefits as reading with your eyeballs.  (Be sure to point that out to any adult who dares to tell you that listening to a book is “cheating,” too!)

So, without further ado, Judi, what are your favorite YA audiobooks?

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

“This is my absolute favorite.
The game of Caraval will take you on a totally wild ride, but be careful not to get swept away. The story is set on a magical island and the writing is deliciously descriptive. Maybe you will also fall madly in love with the wickedly handsome sailor.

The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George.

Becca arrives on Whidbey Island scared and alone. She has changed her looks and her name, but will that be enough to keep her safe? Becca’s courage and perseverance are admirable, even when she feels like her whole world is falling apart. Let Becca take you on a mysterious journey and find out what really happens in this sleepy little island community.

Touching Spirit Bear by Ben Mikaelsen

Mauled by a huge Spirit Bear, Cole is lucky to be alive and the experience changes his life. Alone on a remote island in Alaska, Cole searches for answers. I felt a strong connection with Cole in this beautiful story of his quest to find love and forgiveness.”

Thank you for the excellent suggestions, Judi!

Stay tuned next week, when we’ll feature a list of Emily’s Top 3 books to read if you were hooked on The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Readers’ Corner: Libraries Rock! Fiction

Our 2018 Explore Summer reading program launched last Friday. This year’s theme is Libraries Rock! Find a book that will rock your world on this week’s featured booklist: Explore Summer – Libraries Rock! Teen Fiction.

The Teen Explore Summer program runs from June 1st through August 31st. Still need to register? Click here.

Track your reading on one of our printable logs then turn it in at your community library to pick up your free book! Reading logs are due back by August 31st.

 

Marissa @ Mariner Library

Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Trailer Tuesday: Ash Princess

For fans of Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen and Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes, Ash Princess is an epic, new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl, who must fight to take it back for her people.

Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Featured Event: Drop-In Job Help with a Work Source Specialist

 

       

Where support for most job-match sites stops at the keyboard WorkSource and Sno-Isle Libraries offer you access to career specialists who can help you with your job hunt.  Several locations.  Dates and time vary.

 

Marysville Library – Learning Commons
Tuesday, June 05: 3:00pm – 5:00pm

Sultan Library
Wednesday, June 06: 2:00pm – 4:00pm

Lynnwood Library
Wednesday, June 06: 3:00pm – 5:00pm

https://www.worksourcewa.com/

https://sno-isle.libnet.info/events

 

 

Leave a comment

Weekend Book Giveaway: Meet Cute

Today marks the first day of our Explore Summer Reading Program!

To celebrate (and kickoff!) a summer of reading fun, we’re giving away a brand new copy or advanced reader’s copy of a teen book every weekend until August 31st! This week we’re giving away a brand new (hardback) copy of Meet Cute.

From the publisher: A collection of short stories exploring the moment when a couple meets for the first time–from an African American girl in upstate New York who simultaneously finds a prom dress and a date to a transgender girl who confronts the student blocking her right to use the school restroom. Includes short stories from favorite authors like Nicola Yoon, Nina LaCour, and Emery Lord. 

I’ve read it- and trust me when I say, it’s so good!

For your chance to win tell us about a time that you had a meet cute with friend or significant other. Was it like at first sight or were you frenemies at first? If you don’t have a meet cute story to share, tell us how the couple in your favorite book met!

Winner will be picked on Tuesday, June 5, 2018 with the assistance of Random Number Generator. Be sure to leave a name with your entry, and check back to see if you won. To win you must be a teen (6th-12th grade, or age 12-18) who uses a Sno-Isle Library.

Tagged , , | 4 Comments