Library volunteers earn President’s Volunteer Service Award

Thirty-six members of Sno-Isle Libraries’ extensive volunteer corps are about to receive a national honor.

“Nearly 700 people give their time and talent toward the mission of Sno-Isle Libraries,” Executive Director Jonalyn Woolf-Ivory said. “Volunteers at each of the 22 community libraries help us better serve our customers and their communities.”

On April 22, a select group of dedicated individuals will receive The President’s Volunteer Service Award. “We’re thankful for our volunteers and these awards are well-earned recognition of their efforts,” Woolf-Ivory said.

The award is sponsored by the Corporation for National and Community Service and honors those who achieve the required number of hours of volunteer service over a year or cumulative hours over a lifetime. The award recognizes milestones of service achievement and includes bronze, silver and gold levels for annual service. The President’s Lifetime Achievement Award is for those who contribute more than 4,000 hours of service in their lifetime.

Congressman Rick Larsen said he supports the volunteers, their efforts and the award program.

“I commend the volunteers receiving the President’s Volunteer Service Award,” Larsen said. “I hope their exceptional service encourages more folks to get involved with their local libraries and give back to their communities.”

The award includes categories for school-age children, teens, young adults and adults. Honorees receive a commemorative pin, certificate and letter signed by the President of the United States.

In addition, five of the presidential award recipients were also nominated for the Governor’s Volunteer Service Award. Another five volunteers were also nominated for the governor’s award.

The 2017 award recipients, nominees and the location they work are:


  • Linda Patterson*, Mountlake Terrace Library


  • Kristen  Macaluso, Lynnwood Library
  • Hedy Shiu*, Lynnwood Library
  • Anthony Le, Mountlake Terrace Library
  • David Benjamin Ochoa, Mountlake Terrace Library
  • Andrea Vernon*, Service Center


  • Dan Clark, Camano Island Library
  • Helen Kinsella, Coupeville Library
  • Kelly Smith, Edmonds Library
  • Shirley Vanderbilt, Edmonds Library
  • Gail Lajo, Freeland Library
  • Bryan Beecken, Lynnwood Library
  • Bonnie  Gerken*, Lynnwood Library
  • Jean Minsky, Lynnwood Library
  • Trish Motyl-Hruby, Mill Creek Library
  • Chris Cannon, Mountlake Terrace Library
  • Kevin Kleinecke, Mountlake Terrace Library
  • Linda McCann, Mountlake Terrace Library
  • Richard McGee, Mountlake Terrace Library
  • Elizabeth Coxen, Monroe Library
  • Bonnie  Drake, Monroe Library
  • Michael Gantala, Monroe Library
  • Amber Helman, Monroe Library
  • Deborah Kyle, Monroe Library
  • Randi Grossman, Mukilteo Library
  • Huey-Jong (Amy) Liaw, Mukilteo Library
  • David Wachob, Mukilteo Library
  • Lillian VanWey, Oak Harbor Library
  • Frances Ball, Service Center
  • Jeffrey DePue, Service Center
  • Denise  Nordland, Service Center
  • Lyric Crane*, Snohomish Library
  • Laura Lewis, Stanwood Library
  • Shirley Snavely, Stanwood Library
  • Samantha Sommers, Stanwood Library
  • Teri Towle, Stanwood Library

*Governor’s Service Award nominee

Governor’s Service Award nominees

  • George Winters, Darrington Library
  • Bridget Wisniewski, Darrington Library
  • Sue Norman,  Oak Harbor Library
  • Zach Furney, Service Center
  • Emily McLaughlin Sta. Maria, Edmonds Library