If You Liked the Night Circus…

By Kaley C.

It took me an embarrassing amount of time to read The Night Circus. A very eager colleague of mine with similar reading tastes was insistent that I’d love it, and they were right! It’s not a straightforwardly fantasy novel, but pretty darn close and would be a great suggestion for those looking to push their boundaries with an imaginative narrative. The creepy circus is only in operation at night, and is actually the stage for magicians to duke it out. I’m a sucker for novels written about magical competitions. The plots for these kinds of books are often fast paced and I never want to put them down. It’s been years since author Erin Morgenstern has written a novel, but with the announcement of her impending book release in 2019, I figured it’s time for a read-alike! It’s not a sequel, but we can still be excited about it.

The Watchmaker of Filigree StreetFirst up:
The Watchmaker of Filigree Street

Another historical fiction book, though set in a Victorian era, and another first-time novel! Streaked with steampunk, three people’s lives are intertwined by a watchmaker who remembers the future. Yep, you read that correctly. The watchmaker is known for some of the most beautiful and intricate work around, but is also suspected of making bombs. This book is compelling, with the climax driving you towards finding out the bomb-maker, but is mostly about acceptance, understanding, and love.

Mrs. HoudiniThank you, Next:
Mrs. Houdini

Bess, wife of infamous illusionist Harry Houdini, begins seeing the agreed upon signs Harry promised to send after his demise. This leads Bess, through their romance, to Budapest, and Hollywood’s back-lots. This book is fun, romantic, and compelling. It’s like pretending you’re a fly on the wall as the couple rubs elbows with celebrities of the era.

The Historian - Kostova, ElizabethAnother Suggestion:
The Historian

Our narrator discovers a strange book accompanied by letters in her father’s library that leads her to investigate Vlad the Impaler.

But wait, there’s more on the following list!

Tags: , ,


Comments

Leave a reply (comments are moderated before posting)