If You liked Hocus Pocus…

By Kristi S. 

We are deep in spooky season and I just have one question: how many times have you watched Hocus Pocus? I have a fraught relationship with this movie. As a kid, everyone in school was talking about the Sanderson Sisters and I so badly wanted to get in on the conversation. Unfortunately, I was (and still am) a giant scaredy-cat. My angelic mother took me to Blockbuster every Saturday for about two months to rent Hocus Pocus and inevitably, I turned the movie off about 15 minutes in and cried. In all honesty, I finally finished it for the first time about 10 years ago. But, now that I have finished the story, I love it and watch every year!

If you have the same tradition, I have some suggestions to keep you entertained through the fall season. First: Get reading the novel and sequel! Then, turn to these movies and books to continue living in the spooky ambiance.

…For the Family Fun

For families with young children, try watching Halloweentown and reading A Teeny Tiny Halloween. These have all the seasonal fun, bright colors, and a little humor, but no major scares. For older kids, the movie Casper and the book Small Spaces are good choices. They’re a little more scary, emotional, and atmospheric.

…For the Witchcraft

If you secretly wish to be a Sanderson Sister, then movies and books featuring witchcraft and fierce female characters are the perfect choice. Try watching The Witches and Death Becomes Her for a good dose of 90s nostalgia and solid performances by Anjelica Huston and Meryl Streep. Then turn to The Wicked Deep for a dark YA fantasy featuring three witches bent on revenge. Or, take on A Discovery of Witches for a dose of steamy romance and urban fantasy.

…For the Spooks

If you like Hocus Pocus but prefer your fall entertainment to be on the spookier side, then I salute your bravery. Try watching A Quiet Place or Sleepy Hollow for creeping suspense and a dose of horror without the gore. For reading, you can’t go wrong with Ray Bradbury’s classic story of an evil carnival, Something Wicked This Way Comes. And if you are looking to try something different, try The Devouring Gray for a new take on a spooky creature feature.

…For the Quirky Humor

If you are all about the quirky humor and one-liners, then try these selections mixing fantasy, horror, and humor. Teen Witch and Little Shop of Horrors are great choices if you live for the ‘I Put a Spell on You’ number in Hocus Pocus. Then, try reading Gil’s All Fright Diner for a balance of horror and humor suited to fans of Douglas Adams. I also suggest reading How to Survive a Horror Movie for practical self-help advice for making your way through sinister plots.

If you want even more entertainment like Hocus Pocus, check out my list. What are your favorite things to watch and read this time of year? Let us know in the comments!

Hocus Pocus

Tags: , , , , , ,


Comments

One response to “If You liked Hocus Pocus…”

  1. Peter says:

    I haven’t watched Death Becomes Her for a very long time. I saw it when I was young, probably too young. This is a great reminder to revisit it. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a reply (comments are moderated before posting)